Weekly Money Check Up

I stumbled upon www.myprettypennies.com and I love that she has a Weekly Money Check-Up.  I think I’ll start participating as I become more aware of my money.

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was on my auto insurance – $156.36.
2. Today I feel extremely aware and anxious towards money.  After I tracked all of our spending for 2010 I realized that we have a lot of work ahead of ourselves.  We really need to figure a way to take control of our spending and live below our means.  In looking at our numbers for the current month, we’ve already managed to spend $421.12 on dining out.  The breakdown of expenditures:

  1. $50.82 – Alcohol
  2. $5.42 – Breakfast
  3. $42.46 – Lattes
  4. $39.85 – Dinner
  5. $222.57 – Lunch
  6. $60.00 – Kids’ School Lunches

Wow, that is really a lot of money spent on eating out 😦
3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free/inexpensive thing I did last week that made me happy was cook a great dinner for my family and afterwards we played Scrabble .
4. I will consider this week a success if I pack our lunches everyday and not buy a latte.  Looking at #3, it’s obvious that if we can just pack our lunches and not buy lattes, we would be saving a lot of money.  Baby steps…
5. My favorite way to relax is to cook dinner for my family, eat together and then watch TV or play board games

Leave a Reply

