Sorting Mail

I am still sorting through my mail.  I made progress today and actually went and got the mail out of the mail box.  There was nothing very exciting in there – one credit card offer, grocery flyers and other junk mail.  I immediately recycled the junk mail and shredded the credit card offer.  The simple act of getting and sorting the mail got me thinking.  I seem to always have paper clutter in the house.  I mean there is clutter everywhere and it is usually mail that I don’t have time to sort right away.  I think if I would be able to handle the flux of incoming mail if I could find a way to organize and sort it right away.  Well, I think I found a way to do so thanks to Google and A Bowl Full of Lemons.  I already had everything on hand and whipped out a very similar mail center for my home.  Voila:

 The tabs are in this order:

Incoming mail

Outgoing mail

To be signed and returned

To Pay

To file

Every family member gets a tab

 

It’s only day 2 of implementing this but it’s great so far.  Incoming mail gets put into the incoming mail tab.  Once I sit down and actually can open the mail, it goes to its final resting place.

The calendar came from Outlook and has when ever bill is due.  My husband and I get paid every other week (Thursday for me and Friday for him).  This makes direct debits from our bank account difficult so I try to pay my bills on the 15th and last day of the month.  I think what I will do is write checks out for each bill when they come in and on the 15th and last day of the month, enter them into the check register and mail them out.

Now, you might wonder why I don’t do online bill pay and it’s very simple. I’m old skool.  Yep.  Oh, and also for the fact that we have had our bank account compromised 3 times now.  We just had to open up another checking account because our actual routing/account # was compromised.  Until they get rid of checks, I will sit down and write checks out to each one of my bills.

 

Leave a Reply

