Baby Steps

After having a pretty decent pity party for myself yesterday, this morning I was determined to get back on track.  I packed my lunch, snacks and even brought coffee from home. I’m going to fit in a run tonight as well.  When I get this way, running really helps to calm me and settles my mood.

I also  turned down an opportunity to go downtown tomorrow to browse through Nordstrom’s Anniversary Sale.  In years past my sisters and I would make a trip downtown to shop, eat lunch, shop some more and have cocktails.  In my quest to get save money and pay down my student loans, I turned my sisters and some girlfriends down.  If I go near that store this weekend, I know I will spend money.  I can’t be trusted in there.  Which really goes to show how weak my willpower is.  A little birdie is telling me, “You work so hard, you deserve a treat!” while another little birdie is saying, “You have too much stuff and don’t need anything.”  This past weekend I donated 5 bags of unused clothing in my closet.  It looks bare but everything I did keep matches since I wear a lot of neutral colors and accessorize with pops of color.

Speaking of shopping, we are out of groceries, specifically fruit and vegetables.  I’m going to go to the local farmer’s market tonight.  On my list:

  • Corn
  • romaine lettuce
  • English cucumbers
  • red bell peppers
  • broccoli
  • cauliflower
  • baby carrots
  • celery
  • kiwi
  • avocados
  • granny smith apples
  • red delicious apples

As I’m typing this, my co worker drops off banana bread & a latte as a “thank you” for rushing something through for him yesterday!  I have to remember that despite my bad days I am truly blessed!

3 thoughts on “Baby Steps

  1. What a wonderful gesture from your co-worker.
    We all lose our willpower now and again. I like that you are putting that behind you and moving forward…YOU CAN DO IT! :)!

  2. Yip yip nice co worker you have there and you might not see it but your will power is strong. Choosing not to go had to be hard in itself and you chose not to. You are doing great. Don’t give up.

Leave a Reply

