Work. Life. Balance.

Let me preface this post with the fact that I normally love my job because it’s challenging and I am learning new things all the time. However, the past 3 months I have been slammed at work.  Slammed as in 10 minute lunches, working from 6:45 to 10:30 at night and then still have 800+ emails to go through, phone ringing off the hook while people are standing at my desk asking me about said 800 emails.

I am going through a lot of turmoil at work at the moment.  My company decided that they needed to turn every department upside down, shake it and then put everything back in different places.  I lost the best boss I’ve ever had and was placed with a woman who micromanages everything to the point of documenting what my coworkers and I do every second of everyday. It’s enough to make me scream.  I’ve always said that it’s not the work, it’s the people because honestly, work is work.  As demanding and challenging my job, my coworkers and my old boss made it all so much fun.  It makes me so sad that with a few people’s rash decisions, the entire department has been turned upside down. Sometimes I wonder if the people on top really see how their decisions affect things.  The major thing they destroyed was the relationships people had with one another. The department I work in was once the best place to be.  People stayed in their positions for 20+ years.  Now, just in the past 3 months I’ve seen several key managers, experienced mentors flocking out the door at rapid speeds.  It just makes me so sad.

In the past 3 months, I’ve worked an extra 200 hours. At no extra pay.  None. Nada. Zilch. In fact, this past Saturday I  put in another 8 hours and stayed about 3.5 hours late tonight.  I’m mentally exhausted and don’t feel the joy I use to because I have the boss from hell who has turned my job into a clusterf*ck of irrational emotions.

I will get out of this funk – whether I leave the department or just suck it up and find a way to deal with her.  Until then, I’m running and just trying to enjoy the days I do have off.

2 thoughts on “Work. Life. Balance.

  1. You have to do something about this situation sooner rather than later or more like now if possible. That is too much unpaid overtime you put in. You also need to get some rest. I’m not sure of the situation but I guess you know all of this already. I hope things turn around soon.

  2. That sounds bloody awful! I used to have a much more stressful job than I do now (though not anything like as bad as this sounds!). I’m much happier doing what I do now, even though I earn less. It took the company going pop to make me make the change though! Hope things improve. The thought of 200 unpaid hurs would keep me awake at night though… 🙂

Leave a Reply

