Changes

Since I last blogged in September, a bunch of stuff has happened.  I had intentions of blogging about money everyday but by the time I get home I’m beat.  First, the major changes:  I went back to school, my work load tripled and we bought a new car.  I just finished the quarter up with 4.0 and I will be signing up for classes in January shortly. My day starts at about 4:30 – I pack lunch, make lattes for the mister and I, and drive to work by 6:00am.  I work from 6:00 to about 3:30.  Then I run straight to school and study until 5:45.  My classes start at 6PM and end at 8:10.  This is my schedule Monday thru Thursday; Fridays I don’t have class but work until 3:30.  I usually try to get my homework done by Friday night so I can relax through the weekends.  With the increase to my work load, I’ve also been working at least one day every weekend.

Needless to say, I’ve been super stressed out. With that stress comes my penchant for not keeping trackof my finances.  Adding onto my stress our 12 year old car gave out.  It was going to cost so much money to redo the transmission, and the frame of the car, that DH and I traded it in for a new car.  The car is a 2008 Lexus 400h SUV.  Our car payments are pretty hefty because we got a hybrid that uses electric and gas to run.  I know, I know.  I could have gotten a different car but this is the car that DH and I both wanted, it’s safe,  has great gas mileage, big enough for us to drive our 3 kids around + our sports equipment during the winter, spring and summer months.

I don’t like that we added to our debt but I’m okay with the car payment because I plan on paying off that car as soon as possible.  I will be using my OT hours towards making extra payments towards the car as well as using our bonuses and tax refunds (if we get any).

 

3 thoughts on “Changes

    • Believe me, there are days where I am so exhausted. As long as I pack everything the night before and stay on schedule, it’s manageable. It’s those days where work gets hectic that really screws with my school schedule.

  1. I can see why you had disappeared. I don’t think I could manage a schedule like that. I am actually planning to go back to school this year and still keep working. I hope I can manage but I will take some advice and tips from you like packing the night before. I hope it doesn’t interfere much with my blogging.

    Congrats on the 4.0. You’ve earned it.

Leave a Reply

