2012 Resolutions

I hope everyone had a fantastic New Year’s Eve!  Kids, hubby and I stayed home and had some friends over.  We had a fantastic dinner, some wine, other assortments of alcohol and played Dance Central until 4AM.  I was so tired from lack of sleep that I stayed in bed until about 1:00 in the afternoon today and to top it off, my work out the other day totally kicked my butt and my muscles were screaming at me today.  I literally could not move and due to the lack of movement on my part, I had a lot of time to think about what goals I want to set in 2012.  Here goes nothing!

Personal

  1. Focus on the positive in my life and walk away from the negative.
  2. Work on being a better wife and mommy.
  3. Run 2 half marathons.
  4. Run 1 marathon.
  5. Hot Yoga at least 3 times a week.
  6. Lose 40 lbs by eating healthy and consistently working out.
  7. Study hard!
  8. Finish up my transfer degree and apply to the University!
  9. Get 8 hours of sleep every night.

Career

  1. Continue working hard and closer to my next promotion!
  2. Apply for jobs in the department my old boss now heads up.
  3. Try not to work more than 40 hours a week to maintain some sort of work/life balance.
  4. Remember that work is just work at the end of the day.

Financial

  1. Have a written budget every month and stick to it.
  2. STOP SHOPPING. Really, I don’t need any more stuff!
  3. Start posting on Sundays about weekly spending to hold myself accountable.
  4. Communicate better with the Mr. about money.
  5. Save $5,000 in a baby emergency fund by putting away $650 every pay period into our ING account. We get paid bi-weekly so we can save this amount by the end of February, sooner if our bonuses are anything like last year!
  6. Continue to contribute 8% of pay check to 401(k)
  7. Pay off our medical & dental bills – approximately $2,000 (1,000 for medical and the rest for DH’s crowns last year).
  8. Pay off my credit card – $5,500.
  9. Start aggressively paying down our car note, which today sits at $31,913.20.

I think that’s it for now. I am so excited to finally take control of our finances and just in general having a great year!

3 thoughts on “2012 Resolutions

Leave a Reply

