Grocery shopping…UGH!

Maybe it’s because I’m uber cranky and my schedule was insane today, but I am beat. Completely drained.  In fact, I’m writing this reclined in bed with my eyes only halfway opened.  I didn’t get to grocery shop this weekend so I had to do it today because we had only 1 avocado and 3 baby carrots in the fridge. Anyhow, I went to Costco & Whole Foods today.  I really hate that the groceries at Whole Foods is so expensive.  I only ventured in there because I went and saw my therapist today and her office is right next to Whole Foods. Below is what I bought:

Whole Foods (ahem Paychecks):

  • Salad mix with spinach
  • broccoli rabe that was on sale for .99lb.
  • organic collard greens at $1.29lb

Total:  $12.23

 

Costco

  • rotesserie chicken (way too tired to cook a damn thing today since I’ve been working since 5:30AM & didn’t get home until 8:45PM)
  • ground turkey
  • tilapia
  • red bell peppers
  • persian cucumbers
  • baby spinach
  • strawberries
  • blueberries
  • pineapples
  • red delicious apples
  • baby carrots
  • grapes
  • kiwi
  • bananas
  • roma tomatoes
  • zuccini
  • PAM cooking spray
  • soy milk
  • greek yogurt
  • Sweet potato fries
  • turkey ham for sandwiches
  • sandwich thins bread
  • raw almonds
  • gluten free chicken sausages for the baby
  • brown rice medley mix
  • toilet paper

Total: $190.89
Menu for the next 2 weeks;

Breakfast:

  • egg white omelet with red bell peppers, broccoli rabe, spinach & ham
  • yogurt with oatmeal and berries on top
  • breakfast sandwich w/whole wheat english muffin, ham & red bell peppers, spinach
  • protein shake w/banana & handful of almonds

Lunch & Dinner

  • grilled chicken salad w/red bell peppers, carrots, cucumbers, olives, apples, almonds & my homemade vinegarette.
  • grilled tilapia w/mango salso, brown rice
  • grilled tilapia w/brown rice, broccoli rabe, asparagus
  • homemade turkey meatballs with collard greens
  • homemade turkey sandwich w/carrots, spinach, onions, red bell peppers blended in w/whole wheat sandwich thins
  • grilled chicken w/vinegar & olive oil over grilled asparagus and grilled zuccini

Snacks

  • raw almonds
  • yogurt
  • fruit
  • protein shake
  • whole wheat crackers
  • homemade hummus
  • popcorn

I need all this food to last me until roughly around March 1st. UGH, I hate how much it costs me to eat healthy.  On the plus side, I’ve lost 2.2 lbs this week 🙂

7 thoughts on “Grocery shopping…UGH!

  1. I’m cleaning up my diet and I have definitely saved money because of it. It’s just not fun going to restaurants if you have to watch your calories, so I’ve been buying groceries & cooking more. When we do go out to eat, I chose the inexpensive chain restaurants because their nutrition info is listed and I know I can get something that’s a reasonable 400 calories instead of… over 1,000.

  2. I guess I should be happy because our eating out bill is so much less than it was before. I try to eat really healthy and sometimes I feel like we’re penalized for it because of how expensive it is!

  3. Congratulations on the weight loss. I know how frustrating it can be going to the grocery store especially after a really long day. Healthy eating is expensive.

    I hope everything lasts. Take it easy and don’t overwork yourself too much.

    • No, I’m just trying to eat a very clean diet because my mom has diabetes, suffered a stroke and my dad had a heart attack. Basically, I try to keep my diet low in fat, high in protein and just enough of the good carbs. I don’t want to have any of the above so if I can be preventative and eat healthy, I’ll do it!

  4. Eating healthy is definitely more expensive than eating junk – at least here in Norway. But still it is much cheaper than eating out 🙂 I am trying to reduce my grocery expenses too but it is difficult when you want to keep a clean healthy diet at the same time….

Leave a Reply

