Sunday Night Ramblings

My life has been so hectic and crazy lately and I literally have been catching sleep when I can.  I slept the moment I got home on Friday (6PM all the way until 6AM Saturday).  Fortunately, I was able to spend the day with my sister and mom today at Pike Place Market. The weather was so beautiful in Seattle today. When it’s nice up here you have to take advantage of it because it could start raining within the hour or the next day and keep raining for weeks on end.   I bought my mom a bouquet of flowers as an early Mother’s Day gift.  My babygirl in turn bought me a bouquet.  It was nice to be outside and not in the library studying or at work working.

Speaking of which, the past 2 weeks have been hell.  I worked so much that I couldn’t study for my test and I did horrible.  On top of all that, my husband is not driving me crazy.  He is not helping out as much as I want around the house, which coupled with all my stress is making me very irate.  I want him to start looking for a job right away and what is he doing? Nothing. Nothing at all.  He says he can’t interview because he’s working.  In order to get an interview, you need to apply.  Which he has not done. At all.  The job market is still very tough out there and the fact that he’s not actively looking really makes me worried.  To make matters even more irritating, he just now asked me if we can use his severance and take the kids to Disneyland, which would cost us about $7,000.  Is he freaking crazy?!  He told me that we will have his unemployment and the severance. UM.  That unemployment, dear husband, is going to help us pay the bills.  He’s killing me right now. Before you all ask, we are NOT going to Disneyland. Ridiculous to even say out loud.

I found out last week from my boss that my promotion was signed off by big boss lady.  It is going to HR for review & finalization of salary on the 16th.  I should know for sure on or about May 18.  Fingers crossed for me.  I’m told that the raise is going to be fantastic.  I think my hubby knowing that my raise is right around the corner has him feeling slightly laid back about our financial situation.  A huge part of me wants to tell him that I didn’t get the promotion/raise and that I won’t get it until the next promotion round, which is in September.  Another part of me feels like we are adults and we shouldn’t keep anything from each other.  I’m really conscious of our money situation and I don’t want things to get bad again.  Like I said, he is driving me crazy at the moment.

There is a bit more good news on the horizon. Our Visa is almost paid off.  Current balance is $1,428.81.  Another $650 will be thrown at it this Thursday, a balance of $778.81 which I am hoping I will also be able to send this week.  I worked 25 hours of overtime in the last 2 weeks and that should net me an extra $1,000 on my paycheck.  After this is paid off, we will start saving all of DH’s remaining paychecks so we have even more in savings just in case.  We’ll be paying the minimum on everything (student loans/line of credit) until we find DH another job.

I’m off to bed because I know this week is going to be super busy again.

3 thoughts on “Sunday Night Ramblings

  1. You really need to slow down a bit and find some semblance of balance. I know things usually don’t get easier once you get promoted but I do hope you get a more manageable work load.

    It also doesn’t help if your home life isn’t much easier but the only thing I can tell you is to talk to your husband about how you feel. I know you are busy but if you also happen to come across some places he could apply to, point them out.

    Like I said, I really think you need to slow down a bit but I can’t judge your entire situation, you know better than I do. I think you have a solid plan in the finance department until your husband finds another job so don’t stress there.

    I wish you the best.

  2. I slept a lot this past weekend, as well. It’s ok to be busy but make sure you take a few moments for yourself. Whether it’s a simple bubble bath or a walk/nap in the park, take some time to relax and know what you’re working towards. Congrats on being so close to wiping out your credit card debt!

    • I scheduled next Friday as a day off and I’m turning off the blackberry & not taking my laptop home. Told everyone at work that I am not to be disturbed. It is just a really stressful time at work right now. If I can make it through the next couple of months, I think I will be okay.

Leave a Reply

