Back to saving

DH’s last day at work is fast approaching with June right around the corner. Now that my Visa is completely paid off, I will be back to saving $650+ per pay period. I was really counting on my promotion to go through but it got voted down by the Human Resources department. I was really bummed out last week when I was told. I have been working my butt off and to be told that I can’t get my promotion because of judgment passed on my profile (people who don’t know me at all) is very disappointing to say the least. I was told that I will still be put through the promotion round in September. In my mind, that’s too long, but there is nothing that I can do about it so after this post I’m letting the bad juju go.

With that said, I do want to pare down on our costs as much as possible. A few things I’m looking to cut out until DH finds another job:

  1. Eating out. This is a given but with all the kids’ sporting activities, me working/schooling all the time, it’s hard to not get food. However, it’s not nearly as bad as it use to be, which is great.
  2. Gym membership. I’m so torn on this because I’m someone who absolutely uses and loves going to the gym. However, I discovered my love for the “insanity” work out program that I can do at home. It hasn’t completely replaced my love for being at the gym but I love that I can do it early in the morning and get it out of the way.
  3. Weight Watchers. I am starting to use the myfitnesspal app more and more, completely ignoring my WW’s app.

I’m sure there is more I can cut but for now that’s all my feeble little brain can think of. I am hoping to be able to pay all of our bills (mortgage, utilities, insurance, groceries, gas) based on my salary. Now that the Visa is paid off, I feel less stressed about money and want to focus on saving & living on my salary. We are going to start saving DH’s last few paychecks.

Anyhow that’s all I have for right now. Have a great night 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Back to saving

  1. I’m sorry about the promotion. I’m not sure how they could pass such judgement especially after you have been working so hard. You’ve handled it amazing though and just let the bad juju go.

    Even more amazing is the credit card being gone. Congratulations! I can only imagine how freeing it must feel to have an extra $650 with no destination but savings. Make me want to finish off my car now but I know I have to wait a little.

    I hope the best for you and your family.

    • You know what? I’m really sorry, too. I was completely depending on it to make it easier for the transition of DH not having a job. Oh, well. No use crying over spilled milk! Onwards and upwards 🙂

Leave a Reply

