Half Yearly Check Up

 

June is fast approaching and I wanted to do a half yearly check up on my goals for the year. 

2012 Resolutions

 

Personal

  1. Focus on the positive in my life and walk away from the negative. This is a daily mantra for me and I think I’m doing pretty good.  Even though some things haven’t gone my way, I am looking at the positives of things instead of dwelling.  I also have let go of a lot of toxic people in my life and have absolutely no regrets. 
  2. Work on being a better wife and mommy. This is also ongoing.  My oldest is approaching the teenage years and I’m hoping that our relationship doesn’t change.
  3. Run 2 half marathons. I’ve signed up for 2 in October & November.
  4. Run 1 marathon. This one will probably not happen.  I have not been as committed to running as I should be with school/work.
  5. Hot Yoga at least 3 times a week. Fail.  No time right now.
  6. Lose 40 lbs by eating healthy and consistently working out. I’m down 14 lbs so far 🙂  Ongoing battle.
  7. Study hard! Pass.  My grades are still good despite my workload.
  8. Finish up my transfer degree and apply to the University! Still marching to this goal. 
  9. Get 8 hours of sleep every night. Fail.  I cannot get to bed before 11 every night and I wake up at 4:30 everyday. 

Career

  1. Continue working hard and closer to my next promotion! Fail (for now).  Promotion got turned down this past week.
  2. Apply for jobs in the department my old boss now heads up. Fail.  Trying to get promoted first.
  3. Try not to work more than 40 hours a week to maintain some sort of work/life balance. Fail.  My weeks have averaged about 60 hours per week. 
  4. Remember that work is just work at the end of the day. Fail.  This job is uber stressful at times and I can’t but take it home sometimes.

Financial

  1. Have a written budget every month and stick to it. I’m doing relatively okay with this.  There’s only been a couple of times where I have not stuck to my budget but I cut back on other costs so that we are not in the hole.
  2. STOP SHOPPING. Really, I don’t need any more stuff! Pass.  Have not bought clothes or random stuff to fill up our house.
  3. Start posting on Sundays about weekly spending to hold myself accountable.  Fail.  I was really good at this for a little bit but as my work load increased, I have had less and less time to be consistent with this.  Will re-focus.
  4. Communicate better with the Mr. about money.  This is so/so.  I try really hard but he doesn’t seem to want to know and or care about what happens with money so long as we can pay our bills and have money saved up.
  5. Save $5,000 in a baby emergency fund by putting away $650 every pay period into our ING account. We get paid bi-weekly so we can save this amount by the end of February, sooner if our bonuses are anything like last year! Achieved 2/15/2012
  6. Continue to contribute 8% of pay check to 401(k)
  7. Pay off our medical & dental bills – approximately $2,000 (1,000 for medical and the rest for DH’s crowns last year). Paid in full 2/28/12
  8. Pay off my credit card – $5,500.Paid in full 05/11/12
  9. Start aggressively paying down our car note, which today sits at $31,913.20. On hold until DH finds a job.  For now we are paying the minimum only.

I’m relatively happy with the progress that we’ve made so far this year.  There were some ups and downs but overall the progress has been great!  When I started blogging I was spending money recklessly, not paying attention to my bills and mail.  I didn’t track a penny that was being spent.  My bank account was horrendous – it would be full on pay day only to be dwindled down by $20 charges here & there.  DH and I would do what we wanted and then freak about the bills after we spent all the money.  We had no savings, we had money borrowed against our 401k.

Today mail is opened up right when it gets here.  I save approximately 22% of our income before a bill gets paid. I pay the bills right when we get paid. We still have some ways to go with the Line of Credit, Car Payment & my student loans but today I am optimistic that we can figure a way to keep plugging away at those bills despite DH not having a job after June 30th.

 

One thought on “Half Yearly Check Up

  1. I think you are doing wonderful and you have come a long way.

    Congratulations. You deserve a big one. You have every right to be proud and I hope you are happy thus far and continue to be happier in the future.

Leave a Reply

